The Variety Artists Club of New Zealand Incorporated
is the premier association for entertainers and performing artists in this country. The club was formed in 1966 to foster the friendship and cooperation of its members and to promote goodwill in the entertainment industry.  Based in Auckland, we have members from all over New Zealand and the world.

Our popular Meet ‘N’ Greet social evenings are held monthly and allow members to network in a friendly atmosphere Benny Award presented by the Variety Artists Club of New Zealand Incand enjoy a wide variety of performances.

Our monthly membership magazine Inside Entertainment serves to keep us in touch with news and activities of our members here and around the world, along with regular articles about the history of variety entertainment in this country.

The highlight of our calendar is our annual Benny Awards Night.  This is a black-tie event featuring performances by legends of New Zealand entertainment and the presentation of prestigious awards such as The Agnew Excellence Award, Top Variety Artist, Top Musician and the Rising Star Award.

The highest honour in the VAC is the Benny Award which is presented to those who have achieved a lifetime of excellence in the entertainment industry.  Previous winners include icons of Kiwi entertainment such as Sir Howard Morrison, Dame Malvina Major, Rob Guest, Max Cryer, Gray Bartlett, Ray Columbus, Billy T. James and Larry Morris.  The 2014 Benny Award recipient was Tina Cross ONZM.

New members are most welcome.  Membership to the VAC is open to those with a connection to the entertainment industry – performers, musicians, actors, writers, agents, people involved with the technical aspects of production etc.  We charge a small annual fee to help cover expenses.  Members receive an open invitation to our monthly events, a subscription to Inside Entertainment magazine, advance-notice of our public events and concerts and a financial discount at supporting businesses.

Join us on Facebook here :

For further information and your invitation to attend please get in contact with us.

Click here to download the VAC membership application form.

Full List of 2014 VAC Award Recipients

Benny AwardTina Cross ONZM
Agnew Award for ExcellenceEdwina Thorne
Fullers Entertainment AwardPeter Van Gent
Pacific Entertainment Award for Top Female Vocalist Lorde (Ella Yelich-O'Connor)
Pub Charity Top Male Artist Award Lionel Reekie
Nostalgia AwardBobbietta Fisher (posthumous)
Pat McMinn Rising Star AwardAlexandra Reekie
Rockin' The Planet Top Group Award The Shadz
NZ Entertainment Academy Top Musician AwardJames Doy
Rielly Comedy Award James Nokise
Lou Clauson Top Variety Artist Award Jarred Fell
Top Children's Entertainer Award (Sponsored by Royce Creamer)Mick Peck
Unsung Hero Award Tom Wills
VAC Scrolls of HonourPaul Crowther
Barbie Davidson
Bernie and Rita Eva
Grant Gillanders
Barbara Griffin
Roger Hall CNZM, QSO
Linn Lorkin
Maryanne Rushton
Roger Smith
Shade Smith

Click an award name for more information and a full list of recipients :

The Benny Award
VAC Scrolls of Honour
The Agnew Excellence Award
The Fullers Entertainment Award
The Pat McMinn Rising Star Award
The Rielly Comedy Award
Top Children’s Entertainer Award
Top Female Artist
Top Male Artist
Top Group
Top Musician
Top Variety Artist
Nostalgia Award

Share : Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInTweet about this on Twitter